Visa Rules Valid in USA

Issuance of a visa would be one of the first legislative steps of entering the United States, as well as any other country. Meanwhile, the citizens of certain countries may enter the United States without the issuance of a visa under the policy of a Visa Waiver Program.

A Visa Waiver Program allows the citizens of certain countries to enter the United States without a visa issuance for a period that does not exceed 90 days. The countries that are officially the part of the program are Australia, Andorra, Austria, Brunei, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom.

The program membership might be obtained by anyone who passes the online registration process via the Electronic System for Authorization (ESTA). After the document is issued, it is valid for two years and enables the holders of the membership to travel to the United States under specific regulations.

Notably, there are two types of visas valid for those entering the United States: Immigrant Visa that is applicable for the permanent stay and Non-Immigrant Visa that is applicable for the temporary stay in the United States (tourism, business, or studying).

Additionally, Canada, Mexico, The Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman, Bermuda citizens may enter the United States without a visa on a legal basis as well.

Notably, there are a couple of regulations that shall be met by the citizens of those countries:

Bermudians and Canadians might enter the country for the period that does not exceed six months;

Those that enter the United States under a visa-free program are allowed to stay for the period of no longer than 90 days;

The citizens of the Marshall Islands, Palau, and the Federated States of Micronesia may come to the United States with the study or business purposes without a visa issuance.

Recently the citizens of Libya, Iran, Syria, Somalia, Venezuela, North Korea, and Yemen were suspended from a visa issuance right after the proclamation signed by Donald Trump on December 4th, 2017.